Boxing is often celebrated as a sport of skill, strategy, and precision. However, sometimes, the line between smart tactics and controversial moves can blur.
This was evident in the recent clash between David Benavidez and David Morrell in Las Vegas-a fight that ended with Benavidez securing a unanimous decision victory but not without raising eyebrows over some questionable moments.
Tactical moves or unfair advantage?
Benavidez walked away with both his WBC interim title and Morrell’s WBA (Regular) light heavyweight belt, but his methods came under scrutiny. Early in the fight, Morrell demonstrated sharp technique, using his amateur experience to his advantage. However, as the rounds progressed, Benavidez took control, outlanding his opponent with well-timed punches.
One of Benavidez‘s tactics drew particular attention. Throughout the fight, he repeatedly used his left hand to pull down Morrell‘s guard, creating an opening to land his right hand.
Veteran trainer and analyst Teddy Atlas dissected this move on his show, questioning its legality.
“He used his left hand to pull down Morrell’s left hand and then hit him with a right. I don’t know if that’s even allowed,” Atlas commented.
He also noted that it was ultimately the referee’s responsibility to stop such actions.
“I’m not saying he did anything dirty. It’s up to the referee to say, ‘You can’t do it.'”
While the legality of Benavidez‘s tactic was up for debate, a referee decision in the 11th round sparked even greater controversy. Morrell managed to score a crucial knockdown-only the second time Benavidez had been sent to the canvas in his career. Just when it seemed like Morrell could shift the momentum, an incident at the end of the round changed everything.
After the bell, Morrell accidentally landed a stray punch on Benavidez, and referee Thomas Taylor immediately deducted a point. This effectively canceled out the knockdown, leaving fans and fighters alike frustrated. Many pointed out the inconsistency, as Taylor had previously allowed Benavidez to use his questionable guard-pulling tactic without intervention.
Even boxer Gervonta Davis took to social media to call out the referee’s decision.
“The ref cheatinggg!!!!” he posted on Twitter before later deleting it.
Despite the controversies, Benavidez showcased resilience and tactical awareness throughout the fight. While some may question the legality of his approach, his ability to adapt and take control proved crucial to his victory.
However, this bout serves as a reminder of the importance of consistent officiating in boxing-where one call can shift the course of an entire fight.
Read the full article here